• A dynamic and exciting Violoncello octet, ten minutes in length.
  • Commissioned and premiered by the Monteverdi Cello Octet, Bolzano, Italy.
  • World premiere on October 22, 2015, at the Conservatory Hall in Bolzano, followed by a series of premieres in Italy and Poland.

To order a print or pdf score of
 Metanoia or to inquire further about this or any other work by Mark Nowakowski, please send a request via our contact page. We will return your email promptly with pricing and shipping options.

Photo from dress rehearsal before the world Premiere. Pictured: The Monteverdi Cello Octet.

From the composer's notes:
Faced with the opportunity to write for such a singularly powerful ensemble,I eagerly launched into my collaboration with the Italian “Monteverdi Cello Octet”on the piece which would come to be called Metanoia. This forceful word was in my mind at the time when the project first took root. While typically translated as the command to “repent,” to the English language, many scholars point out that it equally is an exhortation to “change one's thinking,” in a way which implies a fullness of heart and intellect. In the dark,confused, and increasingly turbulent times in which we live,I cannot help believing that what is necesary is a worldwide “Metanoia.”

Return to

Return to list of available pieces

Sample score (first fourteen pages.) This is an embedded PDF score.

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. No biggie... you can click here to download the PDF file.

A video of a performance of Metanoia